NÉ v St Marys Aghagallon


O’Neill’s ACFL Division 1 – Round 10 


Date: Fri 15th June 2018

Venue: Páirc na nGael

Time: 7 45 PM

Referee: Brendan Toland 


Naomh Éanna v Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon


The break since the last game had been three weeks and with Antrim out of the Ulster Championship and the qualifiers  the club scene can resume and the anticipation can build for the championship later in the Summer.


This games result hinged on which team would be in which half of the table, as it turned out the win for Aghagallon, saw the home team move to fifth place, the next sequence of games see both teams playing four games in two weeks, with Aghagallon playing three of the games away and the fourth at home and Naomh Éanna with the advantage of playing three of the four games at home and the fourth away.


Brendan Toland was the referee on the night and the instructions to both teams was that the game would be officiated correctly and with four umpires at both goals it was clear that the officiating was well covered.


From the throw in Naomh Éanna were in trouble, Aghagallon quickly gained possession and went on the attack, with the ball moved quickly the home side carved easily through the visitors defence for Ruairí Loughran to register the first score and the opening goal of the match (NÉ 0.00, AG 1.00).

Within a minute the visiting side had opening their own account with a well taken point from play (NÉ 0.01, AG 1.00), Diarmuid McNulty with his opening score.

Loughran would add a second score for home side with three minutes players to make it (NÉ 0.01, AG 1.01), the opportunity to increase the lead was missed when during the fourth minute Aghagallon struck a wide.

Ruairí Loughran would get another score for St Marys in quick response to make it (NÉ 0.01, AG 1.02).

Two scores in two minutes from the visiting side, made it look like the visiting team where settling, one from Odhrán Eastwood (NÉ 0.02, AG 1.02) and a second from McNulty,  (NÉ 0.03, AG 1.02). Both team had opportunities to move the score board moving and had easy chances missed and go short. When Eunan Walsh took his goal in the eighteenth minute, (NÉ 0.03, AG 2.02) Aghagallon looked to build on their defensive setup and effectively shut down the forward department, pulling men back they invited the Glengormley side to attacked and shoot from distance

Again the wides and shorts added to the increasing tally ad frustration of the visiting side. Just before half time Ruairí McCann would get his first and the final score of the first half  (NÉ 0.03, AG 2.03)


Half time score at Páirc na nGael


Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon 2.03


Naomh Éanna 0.03


The second half began with the visiting side making changes in the mid-field and forward departments, the introduction of Daniel Kennedy in place of Fionntán O’Connor and Stephen Flynn in place of Conor Burrows set the wheels in motion.

The second half was again a stop start affair with the referee ensuring that any infringement or unnecessary commentary was punished, to mirror the first half both teams where guilty of missed catches and apart from the two early goals, the wides tally should have been less. In particular Naomh Éanna with rue simple missed chances that could have allowed them to share to spoils.


Inside a minute Ruairí Loughran would score a point from a free , (NÉ 0.03, AG 2.04), and Ruairí McCann a goal (NÉ 0.03, AG 3.04), that would effectively kill of the game as a competition.


However in response to the home sides four points Naomh Éanna would rally and two points from Gerard Crossey and a point from James McAuley and a further point from a free from Dónall Walsh would bring the score to, (NÉ 0.08, AG 3.04), a well worked goal in a crowed goal gave us a glimpse of the scoring prowess of Odhrán Eastwood to prompt the thoughts of a comeback with forty seven minutes played (NÉ 1.08, AG 3.04).

Gareth Magee, Niall McShane and Eunan Walsh all would have their say and with three points from play and on fifty five minutes played brought the score to (NÉ 1.08, AG 3.09), na Fhir Éanna responded with a free from Dónall Walsh  (NÉ 1.09, AG 3.08), but time was almost up and of one the few scoring opportunities in the second half Eunan Walsh made sure with time almost up,  (NÉ 1.09, AG 3.08),


Full time score at Páirc na nGael


Naomh Mhuire Aghagallon 3.08


Naomh Éanna 1.09



Naomh Éanna

1 Paddy Flood
2 Fionntán Eastwood
3 Ryan Kennedy
4 Conor Burrows
5 Diarmuid McNulty
6 James McAuley
7 Conan Lyttle
8 Philly Curran
9 Ciarán O’Neill
10 Gerard Crossey
11 Ruairí Scott
12 Fionntán O’Connor
13 Dónall Walsh
14 Peter Healy
15 Odhrán Eastwood



1 Gavin O’Neill;
2 Aidan Mulholland
3 Michael McStravick
4 Mark McKenna
5 Shane Russell
6 Jack Lenehan,
7 Pat Branagan
8 Dessie Marshall
9 Oisín Lenehan,
10 Eunan Walsh
11 Ruairí McCann
12 Ciarán Brady
13 Darryl McLarnon
14 Gareth Magee
15 Ruairí Loughran


1 day ago

Naomh Éanna CLG
Absolutely delighted to have Go Box Self Storage Ltd as part of our #100ClubStEndas we are encouraging all members to support the business that support our club. #NEA 💛🖤 ...
View on Facebook

3 days ago

Naomh Éanna CLG
The u12 camogs training on Sunday morning💪🏽 return to training has been a blast this week⚫️🟡 #gaa #camogie #returntoplay (via PRógCaitlinNE @caitlingodfrey7 ) ...
View on Facebook

Follow me on Twitter